No Visa Entry to Korea for Filipinos for the Olympics

Last Friday, November 3rd, the MOSF or Ministry of Strategy and Finance announced plans to help boost tourism in South Korea. One of the highlights is the “no visa entry for three Southeast Asian countries”.

The announcement was held at the Central Government Office in Seoul by Deputy Prime Minister Kim Dong Yeon. It was titled 방한 관광시장 활성화 방안 or “Activating the Tourism Market”.

According to the minister, South Korea will allow “no visa entry” to Indonesian, Vietnamese and Philippine passport holders who will use the Yangyang International Airport when they visit with a tour group. This will be implemented UNTIL April 2018. Guidelines for the implementation have not been announced so we need to wait for more details. However, for the sake of safety of those who want to take advantage of this chance, please be careful in choosing the tour agency and the package of your tour.

Yangyang International Airport is located in the eastern province of Gangwondo. It is about two hours by cars from Seoul. The Pyeongchang Olympics will be held from February 9 to 25 while the Paralympics is from March 9 to 18.

Also, transit visitors will be able to stay for up to 72 hours without a visa when they join the Incheon International Airport Transit Tour Program.

In Filipino…

Noong Biyernes, ika-3 ng Nobyembre ay nagkaroon ng press conference ang MOSF o Ministry of Strategy and Finance ng gobyerno ng South Korea. Sa press conference na iyon ay nabanggit ang pagbibigay pahintulot sa mga residente ng tatlong bansa sa Timog Silangang Asya o Southeast Asia para sa pagbisita sa South Korea na di na kailangan ang tourist visa. Eto ang mga pertinenteng detalye:

Kailan inanunsiyo: Nobyembre 3, 2018

Sino ang nag-anunsiyo: MOSF o Ministry of Strategy and Finance na si Kim Dong-yeon

Lugar ng pag-anunsiyo: Central Government Office sa Seoul

Titulo ng anunisyo: 방한 관광시장 활성화 방안 (Paano palalakasin ang turismo sa Korea)


Una, hindi na kailangan kumuha ng visa ang mga turista mula sa Indonesia, Vietnam at Pilipinas papunta ng South Korea hangang sa Abril ng 2018 sa kondisyon na lalapag sa Yangyang International Airport at kasama sa tour group (may accredited na travel agencies ang embahada ng Korea sa ibang bansa para sa mga tour groups).

Ikalawa, maaaring mabigyan ng multiple-entry tourist visa ang mga bansa sa Southeast Asia maliban sa mga bansang nagpapadala ng trabahador sa South Korea.

Ikatlo, maaaring manatili hangang 72-hours sa Korea ang mga transit visitors na sumali sa Incheon International Airport Transit Tour Program.

Wala pang naiulat na patakaran ng implementasyon kaya manatiling maghintay sa mga anunsiyo mula sa gobyerno.

SOURCE: Ministry of Strategy and Finance website

Leave a Reply